11 hours in the past | Phrases: Eric Johnson | Images: Jack Burnicle, Simon Cudby

In 1981, a second-string Crew USA gained America’s first MXoN crown, and began a 13-year win streak for the Yanks.

Final week, when we introduced what’s arguably the strongest Motocross of Nations (MXoN) staff that Australia has ever fielded, your response was overwhelming, effusive, gushing, vociferous. Name it what you’ll; a better majority of your feedback on Transmoto’s social channels demonstrated a lot pleasure in regards to the prospect of Crew Australia (Jett Lawrence, Hunter Lawrence, Dean Ferris) lastly profitable the MXoN that it bordered on … properly, an expectation!

Which is comprehensible as a result of, on paper, Crew Australia is a real probability of bringing residence the MXoN’s coveted Chamberlain Trophy crown for the primary time in historical past. And what a tantalising prospect that’s! However earlier than all of us let our expectations get out of hand, simply do not forget that if ever there’s an occasion that may tip the shape information on its head, it’s the MXoN.

Basic living proof: the 1981 MXoN in Belgium, when Crew USA’s ‘second-string’ rider line-up shocked the moto world by not on profitable the occasion, but additionally by kicking off a 13-year win streak for the Yanks. The 1981 MXoN was additionally the yr that, mockingly, Belgium’s Roger DeCoster put American motocross on the map.

The fascinating backstory to this 1981 MXoN was captured in a Ripping Yarn that first appeared in Difficulty #10 (July, 2011) of Transmoto Filth Bike Journal. Test it out…